Franz Renggli - Bodypsychotherapist - Family-/Babytherapist
 
 
  Self destruction out of loneliness

All traditional cultures keep their babies next to their bodies constantly, day and night. All developed societies separate mother and baby - the higher the culture, the more radical the separation. So the screaming of babies and infants is a subject for discussion in all developed societies.

In the Middle Ages more than half of the population died because of the plague. The Black Death raged across Christian Europe from the 14th to the middle of the 17th centuries. I view this epidemic as a crisis - and since so many people died, it has to be understood as the eruption of a mass psychosis. My psycho- or rather socio-somatic model is psycho-neuro-immunology: neither a bacterium nor a virus is the core problem, but rather the people within a society who have been shaken by a crisis. If this crisis lasts too long, is too severe or too traumatic, the immune system of the population is slowly weakened and finally collapses. The people become vulnerable to illnesses and finally to death. This model is valid for any epidemic and can serve as a key for a new understanding of history.
In my book I describe the various levels of the crisis in the Middle Ages. On the one hand the Church becomes embroiled in power struggles with secular leaders, the Kaisers (emperors), and thus loses its trustworthiness and the ability to provide spiritual support for the people. After the High Middle Ages, after a long period of expansion in the 12th and 13th centuries, Europe is shaken by a whole series of social and economic crises in the 14th and 15th centuries. For example, there was famine in the western Occident just before the beginning of the plague period so that population growth ceased. But I mainly show how society of the Middle Ages descends into delusion during the period of the Black Death - through the inquisitions of the church, the witch trials and the widespread belief in the devil. Luther, for example, gave sermons on how he held discussions with the devil every night and insulted him. No-one would have suggested that Luther was mad - this was quite normal for that period. Just as "normal" was the fact that men accused women of being witches. Hundreds of thousands of women were burnt at the stake in the 16th and 17th centuries. Europe lost its sense of reality and sank into mass delusion.

From the point of view of depth psychology the following holds: wherever a psychosis emerges, there must have been a disturbance in the earliest childhood of the person or society affected. What happened in Europe before the outbreak of the plague? For thousands of years, in all higher cultures, mothers have been separated from their babies during the day. But one or two hundred years before the outbreak of the Black Death the priests in the churches began to preach that a mother was no longer allowed to sleep in the same bed as her baby at night. This prohibition was explained with the risk that she could crush her baby. The infants had thus lost their last chance of experiencing an extended period of uninterrupted body contact with their mothers, i.e. during the night. The cradle was invented at this point - it can be seen in all pictures and engravings of that period (14th /15th centuries) in which a family and its small children are portrayed.

Is this all a "grey" theory in the head, or rather the heart of a psychoanalyst? Or are there indications for this hypothesis? When painting was rediscovered in Europe of the 13th and 14th century, the main subject-matter chosen was mother Mary and her baby Jesus - for 400 years. The people living in Europe in the Middle Ages must have been obsessed with the subject of mother and infant - and of course, this subject matter could not be portrayed other than in pictures of Mary and the Baby Jesus. If we examine these pictures of Mary from the point of view of depth psychology then we understand the "madness" of our culture.

Fig 1 In most of the portraits of Madonna and Child, the baby is usually simply sitting on its mother's lap (see fig. 1). However while studying all these pictures I quickly noticed two extremes. On the one extreme there is the baby lying naked on the ground (ground children), screaming wildly or even with a frozen expression of horror.
Fig 1
The mother ignores this state of panic completely and prays peacefully to her child (see fig. 4-14).

Fig 4 Fig 5 Fig 6 Fig 7 Fig 8
Fig 4 Fig 5 Fig 6 Fig 7 Fig 8

Fig 9 Fig 10 Fig 11 Fig 12 Fig 13
Fig 9 Fig 10 Fig 11 Fig 12 Fig 13

Fig 14
Fig 14

At the other extreme there is such an intensive erotic or sensual atmosphere between mother and child that it is almost incomprehensible that we have not noticed this phenomenon up till now (fig. 18-29).

Fig 18 Fig 19 Fig 20 Fig 21 Fig 22
Fig 18 Fig 19 Fig 20 Fig 21 Fig 22

Fig 23 Fig 24 Fig 25 Fig 26 Fig 27
Fig 23 Fig 24 Fig 25 Fig 26 Fig 27

Fig 28 Fig 29
Fig 28 Fig 29

The naked baby is his mother's little lover, his penis is at the centre of our attention (fig. 21, 28 and 29). When the mother is also portrayed naked, then the picture is called Venus and Amor (fig. 24 and 25).

What is the meaning of these pictures? Of course I understand the one extreme, the "ground children", as the pictorial expression of the heightened separation of mother and child occurring at that time: they had to cry and scream a lot without their mothers paying any attention to their distress. And these were not the "wicked" mothers of the period, because they were forced into this separation by their culture.

Such a separation imprints a deep panic in every human being. And this reappears later in life in one form or another, at the latest in each romantic attachment. How did men master their anxieties? They fled into their work - a trend much appreciated by the growing trade-capitalism in the Middle Ages. And how did women solve their problem? They feel abandoned by their husbands and flee to their babies and children, which gives rise to the danger of emotional abuse. The baby thus becomes its mother's little lover, a substitute for the missing husband, as represented in the highly erotic and sexualized pictures of the Madonna and child. The naked baby is then bearing its mother's depressive burden and is thus, naturally, overtaxed (fig. 38-41, 44 and 45).

 
Fig 38 Fig 39 Fig 40 Fig 41
Fig 38 Fig 39 Fig 40 Fig 41

Fig 44 Fig 45
Fig 44 Fig 45

This is all seen and portrayed through the eyes, or rather the hearts of Italian and Dutch painters - a reflection of the mother-child relationship at that time. Desperation and abandonment on the one hand, and over-stimulation, or excessive eroticism between mother and child on the other hand - and both occur at the same time. This is the root and origin of our society's madness up to the present day.

For there was no end set to this madness. Europe did not emerge out of its mass delusion with the growth of reason which came with the Age of Enlightenment in the 17th century. On the contrary: at the beginning of the witch trials, lonely old ladies, outsiders, were burned as witches. But the longer the trials proceeded, the more the "witches" formed an alliance. They accused young, successful politicians and clergy of being the devil and of having sexually seduced them. More and more, also young men of the ruling class were burnt. It was not sense or discernment which put an end to the witch-burnings but the fact that the men got "cold feet".

And everything which did not fit into the norms of the period was locked up and banished to the large workhouses; criminals, the unemployed, beggars and people with mental disorders. It is the hour of birth of our prisons and the psychiatric clinics which followed them. Europe returned to "normality"and at the same time new and severe forms of mental disorders developed, which were then locked up in the asylums.

However the separation of mother and child remained, indeed it was intensified in the 18th and 19th centuries. The children's room was "invented", first among the upper classes, and then adopted more and more by the rest of the population. The doctors of the 19th century first taught that a baby should only be fed once every four hours. The mother was forbidden to go to him in the time between these feeding times to comfort him. An infant was consequently raised to scream and to panic - as an adaptation to the emerging industrial-capitalism. And in the 20th century the hospital birth was introduced: the baby was separated from its mother for the first five to seven days after birth Exactly during this highly sensitive phase the bonding process, the mutual "falling in love" of mother and newborn starts. It is not just a mother's relationship with her child which is disrupted by this, but an emotional disturbance between her and her child remains as a consequence. And vice versa. This is the endpoint of a human tragedy, the culmination of a process of separation of mother and baby, which began five or six thousand years earlier, with the birth of our civilization in Ancient Mesopotamia (See my book: The Origin of Anxiety).

*

Since the beginning of the 20th century we have the technological capability to destroy our world with our nuclear, chemical and biological weapons and we are destroying it in reality because of our hunger for energy and consumer goods. Because of our obsession with mobility. But in the United States some women, since the 1950's, have started to breastfeed their babies again, and as a natural consequence, these women also carry their babies around with them. Since the 1970's this has developed into an alternative movement in the whole industrialized world. These children once again have more body contact and in very progressive families they are even allowed to sleep with their parents at night. Fathers are returning to their families on an emotional level and feel a sense of responsibility to their babies and children. Conflicts in such families are no longer avoided. This alternative way of treating children has developed so much that it even influences the birthing methods in our clinics, where mothers and their new-born babies are being separated less and less. This is all an unlimited chance for healing in our culture, a change in the trend of the thousand year old process of separating a mother and her baby.

*

Of course, the Middle Ages are only a mirror, to show that we are now hovering on a threshold similar to then. However Aids is not the beginning of a new, plague-like epidemic. Aids can at most be compared with the famine in the Middle Ages because of which the growth curve in the population was interrupted. A real new world-wide epidemic like the Black Death would cause people's deaths within weeks or even a few days. And high-tech-medicine would be as helpless as the doctors in the Middle Ages who tried to protect themselves with beak masks. Perfume, which was supposed to protect them from the Black Death, was sprayed in the beak - a self-caricature.

In "Self destruction out of loneliness" the aim is to show the origins of our madness, our suffering and all our longings within our society. A society which wishes to soothe all its injured emotions, mainly with some form of addiction. An addiction, however, can never bring back the warmth and security which we needed so badly as babies. The source of this madness is therefore not the relationship with "bad" mothers or absent fathers. Nor is it to be sought in the "wicked" grandparents". They are all fighting with their own anxieties. At the core of all our suffering is rather a process of separation between a mother and her baby- a separation forced in all developed societies. In the Middle Ages - as during all more drastic changes and developments in a culture - this process of separation was simply intensified, with all the associated consequences. And another, ecological source of our present crisis lies in our earth's limited potential for growth. With our blind addiction - born of a lack of security - we have reached the limits of our growth possibilities, or possibly even gone beyond them.

*

The solution to our current problems is not, for example, that women blame men for being responsible for this crisis. Laying blame also brings no solutions in a relationship. We all have to find a way out of this crisis together. We are all in the same boat - together with our children and all future generations. One solution may be that men relinquish their authority- as a defense against anxiety and powerlessness - and discover the preciousness of their tears. Women, in that they no longer hide in the shadow of "great men" but are prepared to take on responsibility in public life. Another solution, finally, is that we as parents no longer "raise" our children but recognize that they are, on the contrary, our best teachers.

We have been in a growing crisis now for about half a century. This crisis started unnoticed and very slowly. It will become more and more apparent in the near future. People will be shaken by fear and panic reactions as a result. On the other hand I see a fundamental upheaval occurring in this time of crisis. A new form of closeness and binding with our partners and children is developing. Combined with this alternative movement is a marked humanity and sense of responsibility for the whole of creation. It is almost a miracle that this upheaval is occurring, not just in individual people, but that it has grown into a mass movement within our sick society. A healing process of immeasurable depth, a healing process that will change the face of humanity. It is more than just a shimmer of hope on the horizon for our children and our future.

Fig 1, Fig 41 Giotto
Fig 4 - Fig 7 Hugo van der Goes
Fig 8 - Fig 9 Robert Campin
Fig 10 - Fig 11 Hans Holbein d.J.
Fig 12 - Fig 13 Filippo Lippi
Fig 14 Sandro Botticelli
Fig 18 Andrea Mantegna
Fig 19 Andrea della Robbia
Fig 20 Jan Gossaert
Fig 21 Jan van Hemessen
Fig 22 Quentin Massys
Fig 23 Meister von Hohenfurth
Fig 24, Fig 27 Tizian
Fig 25 Angolo Bronzino
Fig 26 Giorgione
Fig 28 Correggio
Fig 29 Girolamo Parmigianio
Fig 38 Petronilla Meister
Fig 39 Piero die Cosimo
Fig 40 Bömischer Meister
Fig 44 Gerard David
Fig 45 Schule Sandro Botticelli

printerfriendly version

Franz Renggli - Körperpsychotherapeut /Paar-, Baby- und Familientherapeut
 
 
  Selbstzerstörung aus Verlassenheit

Alle ursprünglichen, traditionellen Kulturen tragen ihre Babys ununterbrochen auf dem Körper herum, tagsüber wie nachts. Alle Hochkulturen trennen Mutter und Kind - je höher die Kultur desto radikaler die Trennung. Das Schreien der Babys und Kleinkinder ist ein Thema in allen Hochkulturen.

Im Mittelalter starb mehr als die Hälfte der Bevölkerung wegen der Pest: Der schwarze Tod wütete zwischen der Mitte des 14. bis zur Mitte des 17. Jh. Im christlichen Europa. Ich erachte diese Epidemie als eine Krise - und wenn so viele Menschen gestorben sind, so muss dies als Ausbruch einer Massenpsychose verstanden werden. Mein psycho- oder besser sozio-somatisches Modell ist die Psycho-Neuro-Immunologie: Nicht ein Bakterium oder ein Virus steht im Zentrum, sondern die Menschen einer Gesellschaft, welche durch eine Krise erschüttert worden sind. Dauert sie zu langen, ist sie zu heftig oder zu traumatisierend, wird das Immunsystem der Bevölkerung langsam schwächer und bricht schliesslich zusammen. Die Menschen werden „offen" für eine Krankheit und schliesslich für den Tod. Dieses Modell ist gültig für jede Epidemie und kann als Schlüssel verstanden werden zu einem neuen Verständnis der Geschichte.

In meinem Buch beschreibe ich die verschiedenen Ebenen der Krisen im Mittelalter. Einerseits verliert sich die Kirche im Machtkampf mit den weltlichen Herrschern, den Kaisern und sie verliert damit ihre Vertrauenswürdigkeit und ihren spirituellen Schutz für die Bevölkerung. Nach dem Hochmittelalter, nach einer langen Periode von Wachstum im 12. und 13. Jh. wird das Europa des 14. und 15. Jh. andererseits von einer ganzen Reihe von sozialen und ökonomischen Krisen erschüttert. So erscheint beispielsweise der Hunger im westlichen Abendland unmittelbar vor den Zeiten der Pest, so dass das Wachstum der Bevölkerung dadurch zu einem Stillstand kommt. Vor allem aber zeige ich auf, wie das Mittelalter zur Zeit des schwarzen Todes in einen Wahn verfällt - durch die Inquisition der Kirche, durch die Hexenprozesse und durch den allgemeinen Teufelsglauben in der damaligen Zeit. So zum Beispiel predigte Luther, wie er jede Nacht mit dem Teufel diskutierte und ihn beschimpfte - und niemand hätte Luther als „verrückt" erklärt - das war ganz schlicht normal zu jener Zeit. Und genau so war es „normal", dass die Männer Frauen als Hexen angeklagt haben: Hunderttausende von Frauen verbrannten im 16. und 17. Jh. auf dem Scheiterhaufen. Europa verlor damals seinen Realitätsinn und versank in einen Massenwahn.

Vom Standpunkt der Tiefenpsychologie gilt: Wer eine Psychose, eine Geisteskrankheit auftritt, muss eine Störung in der frühesten Kindheit des betreffenden Menschen oder Volkes vorhanden sein. Was ist in Europa geschehen bevor die Pest ausbrach? Schon seit Tausenden von Jahren werden Mutter und Babys in allen Hochkulturen voneinander am Tag getrennt. Aber ein- oder zweihundert Jahr vor dem schwarzen Tod beginnen die Priester in den Kirchen zu predigen, dass es einer Mutter nicht länger erlaubt sei, mit ihrem Baby des nachts im gleichen Bett zu schlafen. Begründet wird dieses Verbot durch die Gefahr des Erdrückens ihres Babys. Somit haben die Kleinkinder ihre letzte Möglichkeit verloren eine längere Periode von ununterbrochenem Körperkontakt mit ihren Müttern zu erleben, nämlich während der Nacht. Die Wiege wurde damals erfunden - sie kann auf allen Bildern und Stichen der damaligen Zeit (ab dem 14./15. Jh.) gesehen werden, auf welchen eine Familie und ihre Kleinkinder dargestellt sind.

Ist das alles eine „graue" Theorie im Kopf oder besser im Herzen eines Psychoanalytikers? Oder gibt es Hinweise für diese Hypothese? Als die Malerei im Europa des 13. und 14. Jh. erfunden wurde, waren die Mutter Maria und ihr Jesusbaby das hauptsächliche Thema dieser Bilder - während 400 Jahren. Die Menschen des Mittelalters müssen in ganz Europa geradezu besessen gewesen sein vom Thema Mutter und Kleinkind - und natürlich konnte diese Thematik nicht anders dargestellt werden als durch Maria und ihr Jesuskind. Wenn wir somit diese Marienbilder von einem tiefenpsychologischen Standpunkt her betrachten, dann verstehen wir die „Verrücktheit" unserer Kultur.

Fig 1 Betrachtet man die Maria- und Jesusbilder so sitzt das Baby meist unauffällig auf dem Schoss seiner Mutter (siehe Fig. 1). Aber beim Betrachten all dieser Bilder sind mir bald zwei Extreme aufgefallen. Einmal gibt es das nackt auf dem Boden liegende Baby, welches wild schreit oder gar mit einem schreck erstarrten Ausdruck.
Fig 1
Doch die Mutter schenkt diesem Erleben von Panik keine Beachtung und betet ihr Kind still an (siehe Fig. 4-14).

Fig 4 Fig 5 Fig 6 Fig 7 Fig 8
Fig 4 Fig 5 Fig 6 Fig 7 Fig 8

Fig 9 Fig 10 Fig 11 Fig 12 Fig 13
Fig 9 Fig 10 Fig 11 Fig 12 Fig 13

Fig 14
Fig 14

Beim anderen Extrem herrscht eine solch intensiv erotisch oder sexuelle Atmosphäre zwischen Mutter und Baby, so dass es kaum verständlich ist, warum wir dieses Phänomen bis heute übersehen haben (Fig. 18-29).

Fig 18 Fig 19 Fig 20 Fig 21 Fig 22
Fig 18 Fig 19 Fig 20 Fig 21 Fig 22

Fig 23 Fig 24 Fig 25 Fig 26 Fig 27
Fig 23 Fig 24 Fig 25 Fig 26 Fig 27

Fig 28 Fig 29
Fig 28 Fig 29

Das nackte Baby ist der kleine Liebhaber seiner Mutter, sein Penis ist im Zentrum unserer Aufmerksamkeit (Fig. 21, 28 und 29). Wenn die Mutter aber auch noch nackt dargestellt wird, dann heisst das Bild: Venus und Amor (Fig. 24 und 25).

Was ist die Bedeutung dieser Bilder? Natürlich verstehe ich das eine Extrem, die „Bodenkinder" als den bildnerischen Ausdruck der damaligen verschärften Trennung zwischen Mutter und Baby: Sie mussten viel weinen und schreien, ohne dass ihre Mütter diese Verzweiflung beachtet hätten. Und das waren keine „bösen" Mütter damals, denn sie wurden durch ihre Kultur zu dieser Trennung gezwungen.

Solch eine Trennung prägt eine tiefe Panik ein in jeden Menschen. Und diese erscheint im späteren Leben in der einen oder anderen Form, spätestens in jeder Liebesbeziehung. Wie haben die Männer ihre Ängste gemeistert? Sie sind in ihre Arbeit geflüchtet - ein Trend der vom aufsteigenden Handel des Kapitalismus im Mittelalter hoch geschätzt wird. Und wie haben die Frauen ihr Problem gelöst? Sie fühlen sich von ihren Männern verlassen und fliehen zu ihren Babys und Kindern, was eine Gefahr des emotionalen Missbrauchs darstellt. Das Baby wird so der kleine Liebhaber der Mutter, ein Ersatz für den fehlenden Mann, dargestellt in den hoch erotisch und sexualisierten Bildern von Maria und ihrem Jesusbaby. Das nackte Baby trägt dabei die depressive Bürde seiner Mutter und ist somit natürlich überfordert (Fig. 38-41, 44 und 45).

 
Fig 38 Fig 39 Fig 40 Fig 41
Fig 38 Fig 39 Fig 40 Fig 41

Fig 44 Fig 45
Fig 44 Fig 45

All dies wird gesehen und dargestellt durch die Augen, beziehungsweise durch die Herzen der italienischen und holländischen Maler - ein Spiegel der damaligen Mutter-Kind-Beziehung. Verzweiflung und Verlassenheit einerseits und Ueberstimulation, beziehungsweise Ueber-Erotik zwischen Mutter und Baby andererseits und beides zur gleichen Zeit. Hier liegt die Wurzel und der Ursprung der Verrücktheit unserer Kultur bis heute.

Denn diese Verrücktheit wurde nie beendet. Europa kam nicht aus dem Massenwahn heraus durch das Aufblühen der Vernunft, durch das beginnende Zeitalter der Aufklärung im 17. Jh.. Im Gegenteil: Beim Beginn der Hexenprozesse wurden alte, vereinsamte Frauen, Aussenseiterinnen als Hexen verbrannt. Aber je länger die Prozesse dauerten, desto mehr schlossen sich die „Hexen" zusammen und klagten junge und erfolgreiche Politiker und Kirchenleute als Teufel an und dass sie von ihnen sexuell verführt worden seien. Immer mehr auch jüngere Männer der Machtelite wurden verbrannt. Es war nicht die Vernunft und Einsicht, sondern die „kalten Füsse" der Männer, welche den Hexenprozessen ein Ende setzten.

Und alles was damals nicht der Norm entsprach, wurde eingeschlossen und verbannt in die grossen „Arbeitshäuser" Kriminelle, Arbeitslose, Bettler und psychisch kranke Menschen. Es ist dies die Geburtsstunde unserer Gefängnisse und der späteren psychiatrischen Kliniken. Europa kehrt zur „Normalität" zurück und parallel entwickelten sich die grossen Geisteskrankheiten, welche in den Asylen eingeschlossen worden sind.

Die Trennung zwischen Mutter und Baby jedoch blieb, ja sie wurde im 18. und 19. Jh. intensiviert. Das Kinderzimmer wurde „erfunden", zuerst in den oberen Klassen, was immer mehr vom Rest der Bevölkerung übernommen wurde. Zu Beginn lehrten die Ärzte des 19. Jh. die Mütter, dass ein Baby nur noch alle vier Stunden zu füttern sei. Zwischen diesen Mahlzeiten wurde es einer Mutter verboten zu ihm zu gehen, um es zu trösten. Ein Kleinkind wurde konsequent zum Schreien und zur „Panik erzogen" - als Anpassung an den beginnenden Industriekapitalismus. Und im 20. Jh. wurde die Spitalgeburt eingeführt: Das Baby in einer Klinik wurde von seiner Mutter während den ersten fünf bis sieben Tagen nach der Geburt getrennt. Es ist dies eine höchst sensible Zeit, in welcher der bonding-Prozess, das gegenseitige „Verlieben" von Mutter und Neugeborenen seinen Anfang nimmt. Nicht nur wird so die Beziehung der Mutter an ihr Baby gestört, sondern als Konsequenz bleibt eine emotionale Störung zwischen ihr und ihrem Kind bestehen. Und umgekehrt. Es ist dies der Endpunkt einer menschlichen Tragödie, der Kulminationspunkt eines Trennungsprozesses zwischen Mutter und Baby, welcher fünf- bis sechstausend Jahre früher begonnen hat, seit der „Geburt unserer Zivilisation im alten Mesopotamien" (siehe der Ursprung der Angst).

*

Seit der Mitte des 20. Jh. sind wir technologisch fähig unsere Welt zu zerstören mit unseren atomaren, chemischen und biologischen Waffen und wir zerstören sie real durch unseren Hunger nach Energie und Konsumgüter. Durch unseren Mobilitätswahn. Doch in den USA haben seit 1950 einige Frauen wieder angefangen ihren Babys die Brust zu geben und konsequenterweise tragen solche Mütter auch ihre Kinder wieder auf dem Körper herum. Seit den 70er Jahren ist dies zu einer alternativen Bewegung in der gesamten industrialisierten Welt angewachsen. Diesen Kindern wird wieder mehr Körperkontakt gewährt und in ganz fortschrittlichen Familien dürfen sie sogar nachts bei ihren Eltern schlafen. Die Väter kehren emotional wieder in ihre Familien zurück und fühlen sich verantwortlich für ihre Babys und Kinder. Konflikte in solchen Familien werden nicht länger vermieden. Und diese alternative Form der Kinderbehandlung ist so stark angewachsen, dass sie heute sogar die Art der Geburt in unseren Kliniken bestimmt, bei welcher eine Mutter und ihr Neugeborenes immer weniger voneinander getrennt werden. All dies ist eine unendliche Heilungschance in unserer Kultur, eine Trendumkehr in Jahrtausende alten Trennungsprozessen zwischen Mutter und Baby.

*

Natürlich ist das Mittelalter nur ein Spiegel, um zu zeigen, dass wir heute auf einer ähnlichen Schwelle stehen wie damals. Dabei ist Aids nicht etwa der Beginn einer neuen, der Pest vergleichbaren Epidemie. Aids kann höchstens mit dem Hunger im Mittelalter verglichen werden, wodurch die Wachstumskurve in der Bevölkerung damals gebrochen worden ist. Eine wirklich neue, weltweite Epidemie wie der schwarze Tod würde die Menschen innerhalb von Wochen oder sogar wenigen Tagen sterben lassen. Und die Hight-Tech-Medizin wird so hilflos sein wie die Ärzte im Mittelalter, welche sich durch Schnabelmasken zu schützen suchten. Im Schnabel wurde Parfüm versprüht, welche sie gegen die giftigen Dämpfe des schwarzen Todes schützen sollte - eine Selbstkarrikatur.

In „Selbstzerstörung aus Verlassenheit" geht es mehr darum, den Ursprung unserer Verrücktheit, unseres Leidens und all unserer Sehnsüchte in unserer Gesellschaft zu zeigen. Eine Gesellschaft die ihre verletzten Gefühle vor allem mit irgend einer Form von Sucht beruhigen möchte. Eine Sucht jedoch, kann nie die Wärme und Geborgenheit zurückbringen, welche wir als kleine Babys so dringend gebraucht hätten. Und diese Verrücktheit hat ihren Ursprung somit nicht in der Beziehung von „schlechten" Müttern oder von abwesenden Vätern. Ebenso wenig ist sie zu suchen bei den „bösen" Grosseltern. Sie alle kämpfen mit ihren eigenen Ängsten. Im Zentrum all unseres Leidens steht vielmehr ein Trennungsprozess zwischen einer Mutter und ihrem Baby - eine Trennung, wozu in alten Hochkulturen gezwungen worden ist. Im Mittelalter - wie bei allen grösseren Veränderungen und Weiterentwicklungen einer Kultur - wurde dieser Trennungsprozess bloss intensiviert, mit all den dazu gehörigen Konsequenzen. Und ein weiterer, ökologischer Ursprung unserer Krise heute liegt im begrenzten Wachstumspotential unserer Erde: Mit unserer blinden Sucht - geboren aus einer mangelnden Geborgenheit - haben wir die Grenzen unseres möglichen Wachstums erreicht oder bereits überschritten.

*

Die Lösung unserer gegenwärtigen Probleme liegt nicht darin, dass beispielsweise Frauen Männer anklagen, die Verantwortlichen für diese Krise zu sein. Durch Anklage gibt es auch in einer Partnerschaft nie einen Ausweg. Wir alle müssen einen gemeinsamen Weg finden, um aus dieser Krise herauszukommen. Wir sitzen alle im selben Boot - zusammen mit unseren Kindern und mit allen unseren zukünftigen Generationen. Eine Lösung liegt vielleicht darin, dass Männer auf ihre Macht - als Abwehr von Angst - verzichten und die Kostbarkeit ihrer Tränen entdecken. Frauen indem sie nicht länger sich im Schatten grosser Männer verbergen und selber Verantwortung im öffentlichen Leben zu übernehmen bereit sind. Eine Lösung liegt schliesslich auch darin, dass wir Eltern nicht länger unsere Kinder „erziehen", sondern erkennen, dass sie umgekehrt unsere grossen Lehrmeister sind.

Wir befinden uns seit etwa einem halben Jahrhundert in einer immer grösseren Krise. Unmerklich und ganz langsam hat sie begonnen. Sie wird immer augenfälliger in der nächsten Zeit. Menschen werden dadurch von Ängsten und Panikreaktionen erschüttert sein. Andererseits sehe ich einen fundamentalen Umbruch in dieser krisenerschütterten Zeit: Eine neue Form von Nähe und Bindung zu unseren Partnern und Kindern entsteht. Verbunden ist diese alternative Bewegung mit einer ausgeprägten Menschlichkeit und einer Verantwortung für die gesamte Schöpfung. Es grenzt an ein Wunder, dass solch ein Umbruch nicht nur in einzelnen Menschen geschieht, sondern dass dies zu einer Massenbewegung in unserer kranken Gesellschaft angewachsen ist. Ein Heilungsprozess von unermesslicher Tiefe, ein Heilungsprotential, welche das Antlitz der Menschheit verändern wird. Es ist mehr als nur ein Hoffnungsschimmer am Horizont - für unsere Kinder und unsere Zukunft.

Fig 1, Fig 41 Giotto
Fig 4 - Fig 7 Hugo van der Goes
Fig 8 - Fig 9 Robert Campin
Fig 10 - Fig 11 Hans Holbein d.J.
Fig 12 - Fig 13 Filippo Lippi
Fig 14 Sandro Botticelli
Fig 18 Andrea Mantegna
Fig 19 Andrea della Robbia
Fig 20 Jan Gossaert
Fig 21 Jan van Hemessen
Fig 22 Quentin Massys
Fig 23 Meister von Hohenfurth
Fig 24, Fig 27 Tizian
Fig 25 Angolo Bronzino
Fig 26 Giorgione
Fig 28 Correggio
Fig 29 Girolamo Parmigianio
Fig 38 Petronilla Meister
Fig 39 Piero die Cosimo
Fig 40 Bömischer Meister
Fig 44 Gerard David
Fig 45 Schule Sandro Botticelli

Druckerfreundliche Version
Franz Renggli - Körperpsychotherapeut /Paar-, Baby- und Familientherapeut
Nonnenweg 11 - CH-4055 Basel - Tel. (0041) 061 271 62 32 - www.franz-renggli.ch